Pilley's Island Heritage Museum
Pilley's Island is a small town with a big history. The mining of pyrite began at Pilley's Island in 1887. By 1899 Pilley's Island could boast of having a courthouse for the area, six merchant establishments and a hotel serving not only the town's population of 700 people, but much of the Western Notre Dame Bay. A collection of artifacts displayed in the old United Church School and 125-year-old Methodist Church. Lots to see and enjoy.