Truce Sound Lookout

Sunnyside, Trinity Bay

Just 1km from the highway, visitors can rest and enjoy the view while learning about our history. People have lived here for thousands of years. A meeting between English and Beothuk took place here in 1612. Early settlers wintered here around 1670. French troops held English prisoners here in 1697. The first communications between Europe and North America went through here in 1858. Now, oil platforms are being built here.

Visit Website

Contact Information

Location

  • Main Road, 1-km from Route 1 , Sunnyside, Trinity Bay
  • 47.8536, -53.8863

Online

Dates of Operation

  • Jan 1 - Dec 31, 2017