Truce Sound Lookout

Sunnyside, Trinity Bay
 

Just 1 km from the highway, visitors can rest and enjoy the view while learning about our history. People have lived here for thousands of years. A meeting between English and Beothuk took place here in 1612. Early settlers wintered here around 1670. French troops held English prisoners here in 1697. The first communications between Europe and North America went through here in 1858. Now, oil platforms are being built here.

Location data provided by the operator. Please confirm location before departure.

X

Get Directions

clear

Amenities

History boards, resting place, view of Truce Sound Harbour, near the beginning of Truce Sound Coastal Trail.

Contact Information

Main Road, 1-km from Route 1 , Sunnyside, Trinity Bay
47.8536, -53.8863 (Download GPX)
Jan 1 - Dec 31
+1 (709) 472 4506
+1 (709) 472 4994
+1 (709) 472 4182

Directions

Print Directions

Driving distances and calculations derived using Google Maps. Actual driving times may vary. GPS coordinates have been provided by tourism operators. Please confirm location with operator before departure.